The Oregon LERA Annual Awards
— The Maggies —

In memory of
Magdalena Jacobsen,
the founder of our Chapter

In 2004, the Oregon chapter of the Labor and Employment Relations Association (LERA) initiated annual awards to recognize those Oregon labor-management relations practitioners whose accomplishments and approach to labor relations are widely admired by labor, management, and neutrals. The individuals honored have demonstrated commitment to the collective bargaining process, extensive experience in collective bargaining, integrity, and involvement in the labor relations community.

There are two award categories for labor and for management. One honors persons in line positions (e.g., stewards and supervisors) whose role is administering labor agreements, the other honors person such as union officers, business agents, managers, and human resources personnel whose role is to develop and negotiate labor agreements. Attorneys who represent the parties are included in the second award level. There are two other award categories: one is for Neutrals, Agency Staff and Academics; the Emeritus category is for persons no longer working full-time in collective bargaining.

Nominate Someone For A Maggie Award

Maggie Awards Nomination Cover Letter (read before nominating!)

Maggie Awards Nomination Form

2023 Award Winners

Aruna Masih, Counsel, Bennet Hartman, LLP
Labor Practitioner Award

Michael Porter, Counsel, Miller Nash, LLP
Management Practitioner Award

Richard Ahearn, Arbitrator, City of Portland
Lifetime Achievement Award

2022 Award Winners

Kathy Peck, Counsel, Peck, Rubanodd & Hatfield
Labor Practitioner Award

Lory Kraut, Counsel, City of Portland
Management Practitioner Award

2021 Award Winners

Ariana Jacob, Educator, Portland State University 
Labor Practitioner Award

Bob Bussel, Educator, University of Oregon
Lifetime Achievement Award

2020 Award Winners

Stephen Gunvalson, Educator, Rigler Elementary School 
Humanitarian Award

Stephen White, Educator, Rigler Elementary School
Humanitarian Award

Jessie Osuna-Mondragon, Educator, Rigler Elementary School
Humanitarian Award

Robert Camarillo, Executive Secretary, Oregon State Building & Construction Trades Council
Humanitarian Award

2019 Award Winners


Tom Chamberlain, President, Oregon AFL-CIO
Lifetime Achievement Award

Shirley Block, President and Business Representative, ATU Local 757
Labor Practitioner Award

Nancy Hungerford, Attorney, Hungerford Law Firm 
Management Practitioner Award


2018 Award Winners

Sheryl Miller, NW Technology and Compliance Labor Coordinator, Kaiser Permanente, SEIU Steward
Labor Practitioner Award

Sandra Smith-Gangle, Retired Arbitrator
Neutral Emeritas Award

2016 Award Winners 

Margaret Olney
Bennett, Hartman, Morris and Kaplan
Labor Practitioner Award
Bradley Clark & Jan R. Holmes
Industry Arbitrators ILWU/PMA
Columbia River/Oregon Area
Neutral Award
Kathryn Logan
Chair, Oregon ERB
Emeritus Award 
Cyndi Furseth
Lifetime Achievement Award 

Our 2015 honorees and their respective nominators were:

  • Cherry Harris, Coordinator (Retired), International Union of Operating Engineers Local 701. Nominated by Barbara Diamond, attorney and Talia Stroessel, attorney at Bennett Hartman Morris Kaplan, LLP.
  • Tracy Barton, RPh, NW Local Representative of Guild for Professional Pharmacists, Pharmacist at Kaiser Permanente. Nominated by Kaiser Permanente Senior Labor Relations Consultants Ivy Markesino and Jonathan Donehower.
  • Rob Nosse, Labor Relations Representative, Oregon Nurses Association. Nominated by Todd Lyon attorney at Fisher and Phillips Attorneys, and Alan Yoder and Whitney Wong at ONA.
  • Barbara Diamond, Labor attorney. Nominated by Talia Stroessel, attorney at Bennett Hartman, Morris & Kaplan, LLP Attorneys; Nathan Sykes, Deputy Metro Attorney, Metro Regional Government; Paul Gamson, retired Chair of the Oregon Employment Relations Board; and Erica Askin, Business Manager, Laborers, Local 483.
  • Tim Caplice, Vice President Human Resources, Consolidated Metco. Nominated by Joe Kear, Business Representative/Organizer, International Association of Machinists, District W24 and Ron Ferguson, Human Resources Manager, Consolidated Metco, Inc.
  • Wayne Landsverk, Partner, Miller, Nash, Graham & Dunn, LLP, Attorneys. Nominated by Todd Lyon, Partner, Fisher and Phillips Attorneys, and Michael Tedesco, Tedesco Law Group and University of Oregon Law School.
  • Darrell Clark, Commissioner of Mediation, Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service. Nominated by Jim Bailey, Arbitrator, Paul Stuckenschneider, Arbitrator, and Julie Kettler, Commissioner, FMCS.

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients:

  • Bill Rector, Kaiser Permanente
  • Burton White, Mediator/Arbitrator
  • Connie Weimer, Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service (Retired)

Previous Oregon LERA Chapter Awards Recipients

  2004 2005 2006 2007
Labor Practitioner Paul McKenna, SEIU 503 Kathy Schmidt, OFNHP, Kaiser Permanente Gene Mechanic. Esq.; John Etten, UFCW 555 Karla Spence, SEIU 503
Steward Level     Mary Verpoorten, UFCW 555 Julie Markiewicz, SEIU, Local 49, Kaiser Permanente
Management Practitioner Richard F. Liebman Jim Pruitt, Kaiser-Permanente; Kaiser Partnership Cathy Schuh, DAS, State of Oregon Joe Richards
Management Facility Level Mary Rowe, City of Milwaukie      
Neutrals, Agency Staff, Academics   Nancy Brown, Arbitrator Cathleen Callahan, NLRB Wendy Greenwald, State Conciliator
Emeritus Duane “Buck” Buckmaster, Arbitrator Kenneth Upton, Multnomah County Edward Clay, UFCW 555; Donna Cameron  
Monica Smith, Attorny Gregory A. Hartman, Robert Shiprack, Oregon State Building Trades Council Gregory A. Hartman, Robert Shiprack, Oregon State Building Trades Council Nelda Wilson, IUOE, Local 701  
Steward Level Tommy Rudd
Larry Bartasavich,
AFSCME, Local 88; Lisa Beasley, SEIU, Local 49
  Frank Rouse, Daimler Truck Plant
Management Practitioner Nelson Atkin, Barran Liebman, LLP John and Joan Shipley, Dennis Uniform Mfg. Co. Brian Morrison Jim P. Cox, Portland General Electric
Facility Level Leslie Toll, St. Charles Medical Center, Bend   Debbie Avakian, Providence Medical Center Gena Bailey, Kaiser-Permanente
Marcus Widenor
LERC, University of Oregon
  Marcus Widenor, LERC, University of Oregon Robert “Bob” Nightingale, Oregon State Conciliator Howell Lankford, Arbitrator
Emeritus Sally Newton, Kaiser-Permanente   Paul Stuckenschneider, FMCS Eva Corbin, State of Oregon
  2012 2013 2014  
Labor Practitioner Michael Tedesco, Attorney Diane Lovell, AFSCME Council 75, Local Union 328 Sarah Thompson, Oregon Nurse Assoication  
Labor Steward Dannica Kaer, Kaiser-Permanente Dwain Panian, Daimler Truck Plant David Wilson, Mountain View High School  
Management Practictioner, Facility Level Kathleen Fuller-Poe, Multnomah County Janeen Reding, St. Anthony’s Hospital Pendleton Patrice Boose, Kaiser Permanente; Bill Mullenburg, Portland General Electric  
Neutrals, Agency Staff, Academics William Greer, Arbitrator William Greer, Arbitrator Helen Moss, LERC University of Oregon  
Emeritus Award     Verne Newcomb, Attorney